David L. Griffins wins the 19th Zigfield Troy Open

Rain canceled the last nine holes of the 2000 Zigfield Troy Open, but that didn’t diminish the quality of play in the 19th annual event, held at the Zigfield Troy Par 3 Golf Course in Woodridge, IL. The field of 79 competitors posted a complete 18 hole score on Saturday July 29, but a hard rain delayed the early Sunday morning tee times to the point where the final round had to be reduced to nine holes.

Five contestants were tied for first after Saturday’s round with an even par 54. Of the five, only Rick Grassel was a previous ZTO champion. Hindsight probably dictated that Grassel and the other four contestants; Joe Amendala, Antonio Damian, Randy Bromberek and David Griffins were the only players with a realistic chance of winning the tournament. The nearest two contestants, Bill White and Andy Roderique had shot 56, two over par. It would be difficult to overcome a two shot deficit.

Nevertheless, as Sunday’s nine holes progressed, three of the leaders were left in the hunt, with White roaring into contention with two early birdies to offset the deficit. But Griffins birdied the seventh hole to take the lead from White, Grassel and Damian. Pars on the eighth and ninth holes established the Downers Grove professional as the 2000 ZTO Champion with a one-under par 27 hole score of 80.

Alysen Troy won the Women’s division with a 91, while her father Hal Madsen took the Senior’s division with a 91, also. Al Cordes won the Super Senior’s division with a 95.

Final results – 2000 Zigfield Troy Open
Zigfield Troy Par 3 Golf Course

2,186 yards – Par 54/27-81

1. David L. Griffins 54/26-80
2. Bill White 56/25-81
3. Antonio Damian 54/28-82
Rick Grassel 54/28-82
5. Bob Beard 57/27-84
Joe Amendala 54/30-84
7. Andy Roderique 56/29-85
John Gollwitzer 59/26-85
9. John Baer 58/28-86
Ray Knoll 57/29-86
Tom Heneghan 57/29-86
Mark Arentsen 57/29-86
Dan Bradley 58/28-86
Randy Bromberek 54/32-86