James Troy wins the 22nd Zigfield Troy Open

High winds on the first day kept scores unusually high at the 22nd Zigfield Troy Open, July 26 and 27 at the Zigfield Troy Par 3 Golf Course. That didn’t matter to James Troy as he went on to win his second ZTO title in five years. Troy was the lone leader after Saturday’s round with a two-over-par 56. Four others, including three past-champions, were one stroke behind with a 57.

Scoring conditions dramatically improved for the leaders after the rain had passed through by Sunday afternoon. As Troy began his round with bogeys on the second and third holes, Sumeet Arora was storming forward from his first round 60 with a three-under par 24 on the front nine. Arora added an even par 27 on the back nine to become the leader in the clubhouse at three-over par, 111. With three holes left to play, Troy grinded his way back to where he was one shot back at four-over par. In dramatic fashion, he sank two downhill birdie putts on 16 and 17 to take a one shot lead over Arora. The lead vanished on number 18 when Troy’s four-foot par putt missed the mark, setting up a sudden-death playoff. However, James didn’t waste any time in the playoff, sinking a ten-foot birdie putt on the first hole to win his second ZTO title.

Other division winners this year included: Alysen Troy – 126 (Women), Joe Amendala – 118 (Senior), Jerry Hoke – 123 (Super Senior) and Greg Roderique – 119 (High School).

Final results – 2003 Zigfield Troy Open
Zigfield Troy Par 3 Golf Course

2,186 yards – Par 54/54 108

1. James Troy* 56/55 – 111
2. Sumeet Arora 60/51 – 111
3. Rick Grassel 57/55 – 112
4. Matt Arient 58/56 – 114
5. Mark Arentsen 57/59 – 116
Jim Cavanaugh 57/59 – 116
Lloyd Roth 65/51 – 116
8. Larry Brady 59/58 – 117
David Henry 60/57 – 117
Bill Jarchow 60/57 – 117
Andy Roderique 61/56 – 117

*Winner in a one-hole playoff.